top of page

Trying out OnShape

I have started trying out Onshape. It is a browser based computer aided design software that has the flexibility of using it on multiple device type due to all of the system intensive stuff is done in the cloud. They have a free Version but like the personal License for Fusion 360 it cannot be used for profit and you have to freely share your designs. From what I understand with the paid version there is not this restriction but it does come with a hefty price tag of $1500/year at the time of the writing of this post. There does look like their might be a Entrepreneur option but you have to fill out a form and contact Onshape for more details. This is mostly likely due to similar restrictions that Fusion 360 has for Entrepreneurs/start ups of making less than $100,000/year on only valid for X number of years.


The design interface looks like it has all of the same features of Fusion 360 but I am still learning where everything is and how to manipulate objects to design something up. I am still in the learning curve of a new interface and it I am going to give it a solid try.

One issue that I am having from the get go, and let me clarify this is user error and still learning the interface, is that the measurement tool hasn't really adjusted the dimensions a lot. This came up when I exported the file to Cura to print I did have to scale it a crazy amount to be able to get to even show up on the build plate.

Here is the printed results, the lettering didn’t turn out as planned but it is still a work in progress. The Gregger’s Bit will most likely become my a go to test print of mine for filament reviews.

to summarize it up Onshape does look promising as an alternative to my go to of Fusion 360 mainly due to the flexibility being able use it on a wider device type.



Comments


bottom of page