top of page

Adventures into OctoPrint

Over the years that I have done 3D printing I have mainly used the tried and true method of saving the exported G-Code files from Cura to SD cards and moving those SD cards from my computer to my Printer. This is a reliable way of setting up your printer for print jobs but it is not very efficient especially when you are doing rapid prototyping of your own designs. I have known about Octoprint for several years but I never bit the bullet to invest into the hardware to set it up, until Now!


My Lovely wife got me one for Christmas and I was able to successfully set it up and get it going.


The setup process only took me roughly 30 minutes to and I didn't even have to have it hooked up to a monitor or anything.

Steps to setup OctoPrint:

  1. Buy a Raspberry Pi, I recommend the Pi 4B

  2. Buy a Micro SD Card, recommend at least 16GB.

    1. I am using a PNY 16GB Performance Class 4 but that is because I had that on hand. Class 10 is typically recommended.

  3. Go to https://octoprint.org/download/

  4. Download the version you like, most commonly used will be the Stable Build. I used the Release Candidate build because I wanted to set it up as 64bit.

  5. Finish following the instructions found on the Octoprint download page.

    1. I ended up using Rufus instead of Etcher because I was attempting try it in a Virtual Machine first and that did not work out as planned.

    2. I also did not configure it to work with WiFi because I am using an ethernet connection. I just went into my Router and found the new device added, named it, and reserved the IP address for it so it will not change (instructions vary based on router).

After using it for a few days and getting it setup to connect with Cura I will not be going back to the SD card method.

Comentários


bottom of page